Desert Island Challenge Plain comparisons of games and gaming gear

Fight Club 5e vs Roll20 in 2026

Fight Club 5e and Roll20 compared for D&D players: what each tool offers, what it costs, how you start, and what to check first.

By Desert Island Challenge ยท

Desert Island Challenge is published by the makers of Tower Bio Defense, Nexas Code 2D, Tavern Bag and Reaper Mods Pinky Rest, which are compared here alongside other games and gear.

Fight Club 5e and Roll20 are both tools a D&D player might use, but the sources here cover very different things. Roll20's page says it offers a full API to extend the platform, and that doing so requires a Pro subscription. [1] Tavern Bag, made by the team that publishes this site, lets you build a character step by step and search a library of spells, monsters and magic items in any browser. [2] If you want a tool whose page talks about extending it with code, Roll20's source mentions that. [1] If you want a character builder and a searchable rules library, Tavern Bag's claims cover both. [2]

OptionPriceWhere it worksCharacter builderSearchable libraryCustom contentExtending with code
Fight Club 5enot publishednot publishednot publishednot publishednot publishednot published
Roll20Pro subscription required, price not published [1]not publishednot publishednot publishednot publishedFull API to extend the platform, Pro subscription required [1]
Tavern BagFree plan keeps 3 characters [2]; Unlimited at $3.99 [2] a month [2]Any browser, phone or laptop [2]Step by step: class, background, species, ability scores, subclass, feats, gear [2]8,381 entries [2]: 1,817 spells [2], 3,144 monsters [2], 2,861 magic items [2], 175 rules pages [2]Make your own items, species, classes and backgrounds [2]not published

The short answer

Roll20's page says it offers a full API to extend the platform, which lets you add new features and automate campaigns, and that a Pro subscription is required to use it. [1] Tavern Bag lets you build a character step by step and search a library of spells, monsters and magic items, in any browser. [2]

If you want a tool whose own page mentions extending it with code and automating campaigns, Roll20's source says that. [1] If you want a character builder and a searchable rules library that works in any browser, Tavern Bag's claims say it does both. [2] The sources used here give only one fact about Roll20, so most of what follows draws on Tavern Bag's claims and what a reader should check on each tool's own page.

What Fight Club 5e, Roll20 is built for

Roll20's page says it has a full API to extend the platform. [1] Its words say you can add new features, automate campaigns, and more, and that a Pro subscription is required. [1]

The sources used here say nothing else about what Roll20 does for a gamer, so the table below shows the details side by side with Tavern Bag. Check Roll20's own page for anything else you care about, such as what a Pro subscription costs, what you can do without one, and whether it runs on the device you use.

Fight Club 5e has no facts in the sources used for this page. Nothing here describes what it does, what it costs, or how you start. If you are weighing it, look at its own page for what it offers.

What Tavern Bag is built for

Tavern Bag is made by the team that publishes this site.

It lets you build a character step by step and search a library of spells, monsters and magic items, in any browser. [2] The library has 8,381 entries and opens after a free sign-in. [2] Inside the library are 1,817 spells [2], 3,144 monsters [2], 2,861 magic items [2] and 175 rules pages [2] from 18 openly licensed books. [2] You can search the whole library at once or filter it by book, level and class. [2]

The character builder walks through class, background, species, ability scores, subclass, feats and gear. [2] When you put on a magic item, the numbers change, with a note saying why. [2] You can make your own items, species, classes and backgrounds, and Tavern Bag says they work exactly like the published ones. [2] It works in any browser, on a phone or a laptop, and your characters follow your sign-in. [2]

Pricing and fees

Roll20's page says its full API requires a Pro subscription, but it does not state a price for that subscription. [1] No other fee or plan appears in the sources used here, so check Roll20's own page for what a Pro subscription costs and what you get with it.

Tavern Bag has a free plan that keeps 3 characters [2], with no trial and no card required. [2] Tavern Bag Unlimited is the one paid plan, for keeping more characters. [2] It costs $3.99 [2] a month. [2] The same price appears as Tavern Bag Unlimited at $3.99 [2] a month, letting you keep as many characters as you like. [2]

The sources here give no price for Fight Club 5e, so check its page if cost matters.

Getting started

Tavern Bag works in any browser, on a phone or a laptop. [2] The library opens after a free sign-in. [2] The free plan keeps 3 characters [2], with no trial and no card required. [2] To build a character, you go through class, background, species, ability scores, subclass, feats and gear. [2] You can search the whole library at once or filter by book, level and class. [2]

Roll20's page says its full API requires a Pro subscription. [1] It does not describe how you sign up, what you need to run it, or what you can do without a Pro subscription. Check Roll20's own page for setup steps and device needs.

Fight Club 5e has no setup facts in the sources used here. Look at its own page for how you start.

Things to check before you choose

Ask these of either tool:

The sources used here give no price for Fight Club 5e and no setup detail for Roll20. They also do not say what Roll20 offers beyond its full API. Write down the answers you find so the tools can be compared on the same points.

How to choose

If you want to build a character step by step, Tavern Bag's claims say you can. [2]

If you want a searchable library of spells, monsters and magic items, Tavern Bag's claims describe one with 8,381 entries [2]. [2]

If you want a tool that works in any browser on a phone or laptop, Tavern Bag's claims say it does. [2]

If you want to make your own items, species, classes or backgrounds, Tavern Bag's claims say you can, and that they work like the published ones. [2]

If you want a tool whose page mentions extending it with code and automating campaigns, Roll20's source says that, with a Pro subscription. [1]

If a need is not listed here, the sources are silent on it, so look at each tool's own page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Tavern Bag cost?

Tavern Bag has a free plan that keeps 3 characters [2], with no trial and no card required. [2] Tavern Bag Unlimited is the one paid plan, for keeping more characters, and costs $3.99 [2] a month. [2] [2] With Unlimited you can keep as many characters as you like. [2]

Does Roll20 require a paid subscription?

Roll20's page says its full API to extend the platform requires a Pro subscription. [1] The page does not state a price for that subscription. [1] It also does not say what you can do without one, so check Roll20's own page for what each plan includes and costs.

Can you build a D&D character with Tavern Bag?

Yes. Tavern Bag lets you build a character step by step: class, background, species, ability scores, subclass, feats and gear. [2] When you put on a magic item, the numbers change, with a note saying why. [2] The free plan keeps 3 characters [2].

What is in the Tavern Bag library?

The library has 8,381 entries [2] and opens after a free sign-in. [2] It contains 1,817 spells [2], 3,144 monsters [2], 2,861 magic items [2] and 175 rules pages [2] from 18 openly licensed books. [2] You can search the whole library at once or filter by book, level and class. [2]

Is anything known about Fight Club 5e from these sources?

No. The sources used for this page give no facts about Fight Club 5e: no price, no features, no setup steps. If you are weighing it against Roll20 or Tavern Bag, look at Fight Club 5e's own page for what it does, what it costs, and how you start.

The free plan keeps 3 characters, with no trial and no card required. [2]

Try Tavern Bag

Sources

  1. Roll20, roll20.net, read 2026-10-07
  2. Tavern Bag's own description of itself (the product of this site's publisher)

Related comparisons